SARSO is a Specialized Body of SAARC, established to achieve and enhance coordination and cooperation among SAARC member states in the fields of standardization and conformity assessment and is aimed to develop harmonized Standards for the region to facilitate intra-regional trade and to have access in the global market. The National Standards Bodies of the SAARC member states are the members of SARSO. BIS represents Indian in SARSO.

The structure of SARSO comprises of:


  • check-iconsGoverning Board – The highest authority of SARSO and vested with all powers relating to its functioning. The Heads of the SARSO member state NSBs are its members. India holds the Chair of SARSO Governing Board for the term 2016-18.
  • check-iconsTechnical Management Board (TMB) – Is the apex body responsible for planning, coordinating and monitoring all the technical work of SARSO. It comprises of technical experts representing each of the NSBs of the member states.
  • check-iconsBoard of Conformity Assessment – The body responsible for planning, coordinating and monitoring all conformity assessment work of SARSO. With representation form each of the NSBs of the members states.
  • check-icons Sectoral Technical Committees – The work on development of regional standards is carried out in six sectoral technical committees:
  1. Food & Agriculture Products
  2. Jute, Textiles & Leather
  3. Building Materials
  4. Chemical and Chemical Products
  5. Electrical, Electronics and IT
  6. Conformity Assessment

Since inception, BIS has been playing a leading role in the matters of SARSO and is actively involved in the development of a number of SAARC standards. India holds the Chairmanship of the STCs on Food & Agricultural Products and Jute, Textiles and Leather. So far SARSO has developed 11 SAARC Standards.

For further details on SARSO please click

national portal logo
consumer affairs logo
relief fund logo
isro logo
iec image
niti ayog logo
digital india logo
swach bharat logo
make in india logo
(Hindi) Yogo
Skip to contentBIS