हिन्दी भाषा Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. >>
  3. Standards Overview
  4. >>
  5. Other Standarization Bodies

Other Standarization Bodies

BIS is the National Standards body functioning under the aegis of Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, Govt. of India.Presently, BIS has 14 Division Councils which are formulating Indian Standards covering all areas other than those mentioned in Agricultural Produce (Grading and Marking) Act, 1937 and the Drugs and Cosmetics Act, 1940.

However, there are other industries and professional bodies which formulate sector specific standards, which may be referred as Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs).

The statutory provisions given under Section 10 (2) (c) of the BIS Act 2016 and Section 30 of the BIS Rules, 2018 confer upon BIS, powers to recognize any Standards Developing Organization in India for development of standards.

Please click here to view the list of SDOs in India


Skip to content